Google's Chromium, and the red carpet provided by IE 6

A couple months ago the world was introduced to Google’s Chromium. In short, it’s a browser that does a few OS things - but when finished it’s going to be an internet client machine with little to no functionality beyond this.

I scoffed as have a lot of people. Google’s a big company after all, but Microsoft OWNS the desktop. After 15 years of trying Linux has barely put a scratch in the Windows market share. Apple has had only slightly more success. How does Google think they can beat Windows. I had my laugh, cracked some jokes and forgot about Chromium. After all, it isn’t going to run my PC games and can’t do anything but browse so I don’t need it. Grandpa and Grandma can barely figure out how the mouse works might like the simplification, but I don’t care.

Or at least I didn’t. Funny thing happened at work.

I am a web developer and my current job is building a database application for a medical billing company. My boss hates Microsoft with a passion and has instructed me to only test the application in Firefox 3.5. He doesn’t care if it works on anything else.

I was thinking about this one day when it occurred to me, that directive is how IE 6 got it’s hooks in the first place - make sure the company intranet pages work on IE 6, to hell with anything else.

Microsoft won the browser war and rested on their laurels, giving IE 6 a huge amount of inertia.

So what does this have to do with Chrome and Chromium? Well, Windows got it’s dominance by insuring that corporations needed Windows to run their business aps, most critically the ones they wrote themselves. However, as these have moved online the applications are becoming OS agnostic. But they aren’t browser agnostic (at least not IE 6 vs the rest of the world).