Guide to Setting Up Basic Site Programmatically

I am brand new to ASP.NET though not programming. I have been looking for a guide regarding set-up of a basic, single controller site. All I have come across are things involving the the visual studio IDE. However, I would like to manually go through the steps of creating a ASP.NET site.

That said, I after listening to several videos and combination with my familiarity to everything else I have tried some things. How close I am not sure but perhaps someone could help me out or point me to a good resource involving manual setup.

Anyway, In my web root I created two directories: Controllers and Views. In the Controller directory I create the file HomeController.cs. Inside the Views directory I created sub-directory called Home. Within that directory I created a file called Index.cshtml. So my directory structure is as follows:

/

• Controllers
    — HomeController.cs
  • Views
    — Home
    ----- Index.cshtml

I than compiled HomeController.cs to yield an executable (that seems right). Now, when I go to: http://localhost:8080/Home/Index it yields a resource not found error. I can only assume that I missed a gigantic step and would appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction.

btw: I am on a mac using the mono framework. I have tested that the mono install works and its properly functioning using the hello world examples.

thanks

Building an ASP.NET site without Visual Studio is sort of like building a car with a rock. Both sound a bit frustrating.

You can still go through the steps manually using VS. As opposed to what though, I don’t know, do you mean typing every character instead of using the intellisense? I’ve owned VS for about 4 years now and I think I’ve only opened the design view a handful of times if that’s what you’re talking about.

If you’ve got one of those fancy new Intel Macs why not install a Windows partition and download Visual Web Developer? Seems prudent.