GuitarTab.info or GuitarsTab.com

Hi there,

I am designing a website but not sure which domain to host it with (I own both).

GuitarTab.info - exact match for top keyword search in Google but not .com
GuitarsTab.com - not exact match for top keyword in Google but is a .com

What domain should I host with? And I suppose I should put a redirect on the other domain name.

Thanks for your help,

Matt.

.com is a lot easier to remember than .info, so I’s use .com.

As a guitarist I would search for exact phrases such as ‘Brad Paisley Nervous Breakdown tab’ I wouldn’t necessarily bother which domain its on.
However guitarstab is a bit odd it actually reads Guitar Stab…
Personal preference would be guitartab.info

I’d be more likely to remember .info than to remember to put the “s” in the .com domain name. :slight_smile: (Indeed, chances are I wouldn’t read the spelling of the domain properly in the first place and then would be confused if I went looking for it again. :o)

I agree.

I see what you mean. I realise people will remember GuitarTab more easily.

One further thing…the website will initially just be information. So .info might be best in this respect too.

Saying that…if the website does well (a lot of hits etc.) I might start selling from it too. Then .info might not be best, if it does well.

What are your thoughts?

Matt.

I think of .info as one of several ‘also ran’ domain extensions for those who could’t get the .com extension. If someone hears about your site, you are doing well if they can remember the name of the site. It’s easier if they con’t have to remember the extension too. .com has become the default. Mind you, as others have said, these days you can google the site name and find it anyway, but still, I would only use .info if I really had to (there being no .com, .net, even .org options).

The other problem with .info is I rarely see a .info domain named website in Google search results at all!