Height for HTML Root Element

I have searched and cannot find the answer to my problem…which I’m sure is an easy fix, but as I am a beginner I am stumped.

My page keeps scrolling well beyond the footer element. I want the page to finish under the footer element obviously.

Any suggestions on what I’ve done wrong with my code or what I’m needing to add.

Thanks

http://www.greensherbetdev.leelevel1.com/

You’ve gone about your layout all wrong, I’m afraid. To make those boxes in the middle sit side by side, it’s best to remove any left/right margins and float them, and remove the “top” settings. With position: relative, you can move the boxes out of their normal position, but the space they should have occupied remains there, and hence the huge gap remains.

So remove all the top settings on all elements, and float those middle boxes, then we can look at how to do the final adjustments. :slight_smile:

Hi,

Thanks for your advice. I understand that concept - i.e. relative positioning only moves the box from it’s ‘original’ position and it makes sense that I would then have excess space below the footer.

I have done as you suggested and if you can help me go to the next step of aligning the elements correctly. I think my brain is nearly fried at this point.

Secondary, Tertiary, Quaternary and Footer elements all need adjusting.

I kept the ‘navigation’ and ‘main’ elements using ‘relative’ positioning. I kept the top setting on the ‘main’ element, however should I change these elements to float & remove the top setting from ‘main’ also?

Thanks again.

OK, good work. :slight_smile: The next thing I would suggest (as you asked) is to remove all the other top settings too, as they aren’t needed and will get you into a bit of trouble. If you need spacing, use padding/margin instead. I’m happy to help you through this, so perhaps first move all those top settings (and any other positioning) as that will hep to get the rest right. :slight_smile: