Hello from a new member and advice sought

Hello all, :slight_smile:

I have been handcoding websites in Notepad for about ten years now - all pretty vanilla stuff, nothing in the ‘all singing all dancing’ category, but trying to make sites which are (hopefully) user friendly. One is aimed at providing information for browsers/customers about our Art Gallery/Studio.

I’ve come here seeking advice from knowledgeable web designers about how to update this website.

First of all, we’re a husband and wife team. Hubby is the artist and I do all the computing and IT stuff including the website. I think he does appreciate the work I put into the website (and the money saved by not spending a lot of money to have a fancy site one professionally done) but now he’s wanting more functionality and I’m not sure how to go about providing it.

The website itself was originally handcoded in about 2002 and one section hasn’t changed because there is nothing new there. Parts of another section are pretty much archive to they haven’t been updated in any major way. I’ve redone the index page, added some extra pages and spruced up others. I’ve also ‘bolted on’ a small separate website which I created for a month-long solo Exhibition he had in 2009 and an accompanying seven page ‘blog’ with photos. His latest Exhibition last autumn has a Visual Lightbox slideshow for customers to view. All in all, it’s a bit of a ragbag of slightly disjointed sections and I really need to pull it all together properly (which means a lot of work). The older pages are coded using basic HTML but the newer ones employ CSS to format the text.