Help me take the leap into Web Programming? Guide/Blueprint Needed

Hi all!
I need a little direction and was wondering if you guys can maybe point me on the right path. I’m a digital media major who has always enjoyed web design and decided that I would take the leap this year and begin learning the craft of web design/code. The issue I’m having at the moment is that there seems to be a lot of programming choices one can learn and I’m kind of jammed up on which direction I should be heading in…

My ultimate goal would be to create a site that is interactive yet clean, kind of like the site below…

http://cowbird.com/

Problem is I have no idea what programming languages are required to make something like that.

I’m just starting to learn Html/Css but could seriously use a blueprint on what I should be learning next to reach my goal by the end of the year.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

HTML and CSS are the bread and butter of web design and development. Whatever direction you eventually take, you really must start by getting a good grasp of those two technologies.

The third item on the list should be JavaScript. You might end up not needing a deep knowledge of JavaScript, but you should definitely be familiar with the basics.

After that, you should choose a server-side development tool. That might be PHP, or .NET, or one of several other possibilities. But I would advise you not to make that choice until you are more familiar with the fundamentals.

Mike

Hi ScotchTape88. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

You are right to start off with HTML and CSS, as they are what you see when you visit a website, and without them, you can’t do much. But then, to get things happening on the site, it’s worth learning a server-side language like PHP, and also some client-side JavaScript if you need fancy things to happen like slideshows.