Help with a "Mailto" form

[FONT=Verdana]Hello Everyone,

I’m a complete newbie to anything related to computer languages. I am a complete novice to HTML and CSS and have trawled the internet for an answer to my question with no joy. I come across this forum and it seems a friendly place to post my question! I have basically made a few forms which are used on an internal network, nothing customer facing, but a way in which me and my colleagues request/share information.

The forms look nice and definitely do the job required, the only problem, is the layout of the information which comes though to the designated email. The information comes though like this:

Job Ref=xxxx
Item=xxxx
Quantity=1
Item=
Quantity=0
Item=
Quantity=0
Item=
Quantity=0
Faulty=xxx
Error Message=
Other reason for collection=xxx

Is there a way I can amend the font and layout of this information? Particulary, I would like to change the Input name and user text font colours. Its all to close together and just doesn’t look/feel right,

Any help would be much appreciated!

Many thanks

Damon[/FONT]

Welcome, Damon to the Sitepoint forums. I hope you spend some time here learning more AND sharing your knowledge.
You are correct that this is a very friendly place.

To answer your question, the form that you have created only ‘captures’ the information (and sends it to a web server).
The format of the reported information (in an email) is based how that server handles the information.

If, as it appears, you are using a simple “mailto:” it would be helpful to see that. Can you post a snippet from the form?

I am sure among the very smart people here we can find a way to help you improve the process/appearance.

Hello ParkinT and many thanks for the hasty reply!

Here is an example of one of the forms I have created. I have only used Notepad to make this and hope its not too shoddy and will be torn apart from experienced users as I have seen on other sites haha.