Help with form and javascript to a newcomer please

Hi,

This is my first questoin or my first post.

I want to add javascript to my form to populate some things (select boxs, checkboxes etc) when a item from the select box is clicked.

I also want to add a background color and an image at the end of the option.

The image like a check mark that this option is selected.

Can somebody help me to do that?

I am new to javascript so i dont have the code. I am still learning.

My code for the form :

<select id="mylist" name="mylist" size="9" style="width:150px;">
       <option value="1">Option 1 </option>
       <option value="2">Option 2 </option>
       <option value="3">Option 3 </option>
       <option value="4">Option 4 </option>
       <option value="5">Option 5 </option>
       <option value="6">Option 6 </option>
       <option value="7">Option 7 </option>
       <option value="8">Option 8 </option>

</select>
          <br />
Name : <br />
<input type="text" name="name" id="name"><br />
Email : <br />
<input type="text" name="email" id="email"><br />
<div id="dynamic" style="display:none;">
</div>
Comments : <br />
<textarea name="comments" id="comments" cols="22"></textarea> <br />
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="submit info">

1. Group those selects and checkboxes in DIV elements, or other appropriate ones, each group with a unique identifier.
  2. When the page first starts, use scripting to hide those groups. A useful way is to trigger the select elements onchange event because…
  3. When the select onchange event is triggered, hide all the groups and then if appropriate, reveal the selected one.

Setting things like option color and background image are where CSS gets involved.

When the onchange event is fired, you would do two different things.

1. remove a class name (perhaps “active”) from all of the options
  2. set the “active” class name on the selected option