Help with media queiry for smart phone

Hi
I am a student doing work study and designing my first web site with media queries for a client. I used these media quieries and css style sheets successfully
<head>
<meta http-equiv=“Content-Type” content=“text/html; charset=UTF-8” />
<meta name=“viewport” content=“width=device-width, maximum-scale=1.0, minimum-scale=1.0, initial-scale=1” />

<title>Home</title>

<link rel=“stylesheet” type=“text/css” href=“css/CAN.css”/>
<!-- CAN_medium –>
<link rel=“stylesheet” type=“text/css” media=“only screen and (min-width:501px) and (max-width:800px)” href=“css/CAN_medium.css”/>
<!-- CAN_small –>
<link rel=“stylesheet” type=“text/css” media=“only screen and (min-width:50px) and (max-width:500px)” href=“css/CAN_small.css” />

But I cannot get my media query for my iphone to work. I put it in my CAN. css file below…Can anyone help? Is my meta tag above right? Should I do it differently? Is it even the right code? I am soo stumped as to why it’s not working…obviously I have a lot to learn :-?

/smartphones (portrait and landscape)–/
@media only screen
and (min-device-width : 320px)
and (max-device-width : 480px) {

#header {
height: 80px;
background-image: url(…/images/logo320.jpg);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: left 0px;
background-color: #c55b19;
}
#footer {
background-color: #ee6a1b;
height: 30px;
border: thin solid #274b1b;
}
Content {
font-size: 10px;
color: #274b1b;
height: auto;
background-color: #FFF;
border: 1px solid #274b1b;
text-align: center;
}
}

Hi charrcs. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

If you have alternate rules for these elements in the third CSS file, that third CSS file will override the first, as it comes later, and the iPhone will read the styles in the third style sheet, as its dimensions are within those limits (e.g. 50px and 500px).