Help with padding

I have this design I just put together, and being my first CSS based design, I am not sure why this is happening.

I have some general knowledge of some tags that can be used to style a page by CSS.

Here is the example picture: ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

I have the header, navbar, left column, right column, content, and footer (in that order). The left column is floated left, then the right is floated right. I have no float on the middle content. Each are padded to have “padding: 10px;” but the middle does not pad on the left or right.

Any ideas?

If you post the code (or a link to the page would be even better), we’ll have a better chance of figuring out what’s wrong than by looking at a picture…

actually I understand what he’s saying. The middle would NOT pad left and right because that’s the way floats work. your padding is actually there, but covered up by the floats. what you need to do is, whatever you would have used padding for the middle add it as margin on the OPPOSITE SIDE SIDE of the float to the floated elements.

.middle{}
.fr,.fl {padding:10px;}
.fr{float:right; margin-left:10px;}
.fl{float:left; margin-right:10px;}

ANOTHER WAY, if your side bar widths are fixed, is to give the middle element left/right margins = the width+padding of the sidebar + the padding desired for that side of the middle element

example:
.fl, .fr { width:150px; padding 10px} /* the computed width of the sidebar would then be 170px */
.fr {float:right}
.fl {float:left}
.middle { margin-left:180px; margin-right:180px}

hope that helps

You can also set overflow:hidden on your middle div and that will prevent it from sliding under the floats (it also un-collapses margins).
Then your side paddings will come into view. :wink:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
 "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html lang="en">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
<title>Three Columns</title>