Help with some collapsable lists

Hi jQuery experts,

I need some advice, this is my first time using jQuery after reading book “jQuery Novice to Ninja” (very good book).

What I have is basically a list of items that when clicked they show/hide their content which is exactly what I want the problem is that I also want to control these lists with some buttons and what I want is that when any of these buttons is clicked to show the content of the target list and hide the rest of them, which is also working except when the target is closed, this is where I need help with how can I tell it to open it if its close and hide the rest of the lists.

In other words what I want is that if “button 1” is clicked to show only content from list1 and close list2 and list3 regardless of their current state (close/open), because right now if I click list1 and close it, when I click button 1 it hides all lists but it doesn’t show content of list1 since I’m using the “:not” selector.

Any idea how can I do this? Sorry if I’m not explaining this correctly.

Here is the code:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<head>
<title>Testing </title>
<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
   <script type="text/javascript"> 

$(document).ready(function(){    

$('h3').click(function() {$(this).next(".list-items").animate({'height':'toggle'}, 'slow'); });  

$('.main-button').click(function(){$(".list-items").animate({'height':'toggle'}, 'slow'); });  

$('#button1').click(function() {$(".list-items:not(.list1)").hide(); });  
$('#button2').click(function() {$(".list-items:not(.list2)").hide(); }); 
$('#button3').click(function() {$(".list-items:not(.list3)").hide(); });      

});  

</script> 

</head>
<body>  
	<a class="main-button">Collapse/Open all</a>
  	      <ul>
			    <li id="button1"><a>Button 1</a></li>