Help with sql query

I am a complete newbie at this and really do not know sql. I am just stumbling around but have completed a few queries with success. I have a field in a table that I want to APPEND information to, specifically the text " 7" (Without the quotes) I am using this:

INSERT INTO jos_vm_product product_sku VALUES ' 7'

But I keep getting an error.

I am using phpMyAdmin

Can anyone offer some help here. This would save me hours of work.

Many thanks,
Houston

Try

INSERT INTO jos_vm_product (product_sku) VALUES (7)

I got this error:

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds  to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'RT INTO  jos_vm_product (product_sku) VALUES (7)' at line 1

This is the syntax

INSERT INTO TABLENAME (COLOUMNAME) VALUES (VALUES)

try
INSERT INTO jos_vm_product (product_sku) VALUES (‘7’)

are yu sure the table name is correct

That worked but instead of appending a field in a record it added a whole new record. The filed product_sku was set to 7 and all other fields to NULL. Not was I was wanting to do.

then u must use update statement

Update tablename set coloumname=value

Wont this replace what is there? I just need it to append to what is already in the field

then you should use concatenate for that particular coloumn and row

update tablename set coloumname=concat(coloumname, ‘7’) where id=‘1’;

id is the primary key

I did a slight modification but it worked. Many many thanks for your help.

update jos_vm_product set product_sku=concat(product_sku, ' 7') where product_id>'106'