Help with SQL

I need some help with writing an SQL query.

I have 2 tables with some duplicate data that I would like to associate with each other.
Table1 - ID-Group1
ID - primary key
FirstName
LastName
Address
City
State
Zip

Table2 - IDGroup2
ID - primary key
FirstName
LastName
Address
City
State
Zip
Table1ID

There are a large number of duplicate Firstname/lastName/add/city/state/zip in Table1 and Table2, but they have different ID’s.

Is there a way to write a query to look for matches between the tables and then update Table1ID on the appropriate Table2 record?

thanks

I’m very new to all this but I think you need a JOIN query.

How many groups can a person be a member of?

Does any person have more than one (different) addresses to their name?

In post #4 you say that there are lots of misspelled/alternate spelling of name/address in both Table One and Table Two I suggest that you first identify records with spelling mistakes and correct them, then where there are alternate spellings, choose one.

It has been years of bad information management, but ultimately I have to sort through it.

There are lots of what-if scenarios here that will cause problems - misspelled/alternate spelling of name/address, duplicate records in Table1 and/or Table2, same person with two different addresses.

I am debating setting up a seperate table just to manage the duplicates where I could associate one ID with multiple other IDs, but I am not sure the best way to do that either.

Possibly one table for addresses, maybe using a lookup table between the address table and the table storing a person’s name. Does any address have more than one person against it?

Is a person allowed to be a member of more than one group?

yes, there are husband/wife and/or multiple residents of the same address in our data.

Group1 and Group2 has thousands of duplicates. That is what I am trying to indentify & clean up

Can I suggest:

Group - GroupMembership - Member - MemberAdress - Address