Help with using CS4 Fireworks and Vector Graphics - They appear to be pixelated

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to Fireworks and vector graphics more specifically. I have created a cartoon character I want to use for my website, but I would like to scale him up and down depending on how I need to use him. For some reason, I cannot scale him in Fireworks without getting a distorted image. The character was definitely draw with only the vector tools. I can even copy the character and select edit Copy to vectors and then paste it in Illustrator. It looks good in Illustrator and I can size it up or down with no problem. But I don’t understand why I have to use Illustrator to do this. Shouldn’t it just resize as a regular vector image in Fireworks? Also, when I zoom in on my vector objects, all the lines look like bitmap images very pixelated. Why is this? It’s a vector image, it shouldn’t do this right? I’m just really confused, and hoping someone can help me.

Josh

hard to say - could you post a link to the fireworks png?

when you zoom in in fireworks you’ll always get a pixellated view at anything other than 100% zoom but that’s only a bitmap representation of the vectors. make sure you always view at 100% when you want to check that it still looks and not pixellated

how are you resizing it in fireworks? use the scale/transform tool or image resize or…?

Thanks for the quick reply. I have taken some screenshots to share. The first ones are from Fireworks. Then I use “edit -> copy as vectors” and paste to Illustrator. Then I took some screenshots with it in Illustrator. I just want to know why in Fireworks it doesn’t appear the same (as a vector image). It also doesn’t work like a vector (i.e. when I resize it, it changes the shape of objects, etc, when I resize back to the original after the resize to a smaller size. Thanks for any help!