Help with web design personal projects

So I have been learning HTML & CSS for just over 7 months and I just finished my online portfolio but have yet post it online as i have no real work to show of, many people suggest building personal projects for fictitious company’s to gain some experience but are these projects best to be put online or off line ? and in terms of copyright where do personal projects lie ?

Any help is much appreciated :slight_smile:

Web-based projects are best viewed online, since that is what they are designed for.

Copyright always falls to the author of the work. If the project is a work-for-hire project, then the author/owner and copyrights holder is the person/company that commissioned the work, unless otherwise spelled out in the contract (ie, you can add in a bit about being able to add the work in your portfolio and reuse it).

I d say join dribble or behance. Making a personal website to showcase work is a waste of time unless you are insanely good. No one will remember your web-site if you works are not astonishing, so it will get no visitors and will go to waste.

Of course there are successful examples of people faking companies and getting some jobs through their “web-sites” but i think becoming a part of a leading design community like dribble will get you going WAY faster.