Help with Web Storage Needed

I am new to javascript. I am working on counting down days to an event on an app. I got this script that does exactly what i want but i also want it to work offline, so that anything the user returns to it, counting down continues. Using example from w3school, i added the highlighted code to make it work offline. It isn’t working. Please can someone put me through on how to make this script continue working offline

/* To display a Countdown timer until specified Date-Time */
var countdownTime = function(refid)

{
  // function to be executed when countdown timer reach to 0
  var cdTimer0 = function() {
    // HERE Add the code to be processed
  }

// http://coursesweb.net/javascript/
  // sets an <option> lists and adds it into <select> with "id" from id parameter
  var setOptions = function(min, max, id) {
    re = '';
    for(var i=min; i<=max; i++) {
      re += '<option value="'+ i +'">'+ i +'</option>';
    }
    document.getElementById(id).innerHTML = re;
  }

// sets the days in <select> list with days
  this.setDays = function(month) {
    // sets maximum day number according to month
    if(month == 3 || month == 5 || month == 7 || month == 9) var maxday = 30;
    else if(month == 1) {
      if((year % 4) == 0) var maxday = 29;
      else var maxday = 28;
    }
    else var maxday = 31;

setOptions(1, maxday, refid +'fday');       // adds the option with days
  }

// sets a object for current datetime and gets current year, month, milliseconds
  var obNow = new Date();
  var year = obNow.getFullYear();
  this.month = obNow.getMonth();
  this.fform = (document.querySelector('form#'+ refid +'timer') != null) ? 1 : 0;     // to know if datetime is from form or not
  var fmills = 0;         // number of milliseconds of ending datetime
  var thisOb = this;      // contains reference to object with this class, to can be used inside function to auto-call
localStorage.setItem('fmills', 0);
localStorage.getItem('fmills');