How and where to start your own business or being your own boss?

Over the years, I have been working in different industries, but always within the IT department in different roles or capacity: Network Admin, Web Development, DBA … you name. I have about 12 years of experience in the field. On my spare time, I do lots of reading/research on SEO, web development, website flipping, selling/buying leads, Facebook pva and all of the alike. Yet, with all the knowledge and experience that I have, how come I don’t freelance? The answer is quite simple: I don’t really know how or where to start.

At the moment, I have a very stable and tolerable job! However, I am getting a bit tired of the office politics and dramas! I sometimes spend half to one hour overhearing others around my cube complaining about the house party that they didn’t get invited to, “I thought we were closed? How come I didn’t get invited to her/his house get-together?” Like it or not, such behaviors do spread and impact others’ workflow, unfortunately; well, that’s beside the point.

In addition, while I am qualified to do the job, do I actually enjoy it or being passionate about it? On a scale of 1 to 10—10 being the most passionate about—I would say that I am about a 6.5. Not too bad, yet not the most ideal either. The daily routine that sucks the life force out of most people for something that they neither care for nor enjoy; or, the motions and pretense that almost everyone felt victim to and a myriad of other reasons are all things that have started to make me think and see things differently.