How can I make Apache safe on my Server?

I just got a VPS to host my client’s website, and I am totally new to web hosting and administration.

The host I am with offers a semi-managed VPS, and while they are helpful, I want to make sure I check everything out to keep my client’s site and customers safe.

Is there like a “Top-10 List” of things you should do to make Apache safe?

I believe I am running Apache 2.4, and I trust my web host has installed all relevant security patches, but I’m sure there are still lots of “gotchas” out there!

Thanks.

Hi mikey!

Aw, “semi-managed?” What does that mean? What do they manage and what do they leave to you?

As I’ve preached before, better to have the host manage the server (they don’t have to get in the way … and don’t unless you ask for help), better to have WHM/cPanel making regular updates (cPanel has been changing with new features as well as plugging security issues - which they tell you about as soon as they have a patch). YOUR job is to write good code recognizing that everything which visitors submit (intended or not - the last thread I answered questioned requests for /?q=node/add …) MUST be carefully matched to what the script expects to receive (including checking data types as well as values, e.g., look for [and replace] apostrophes in strings which will touch your database!).