How Can I send html emails from a hotmail account?

Hi Guys,
This is a fairly silly question I think, but I’ve never tried it before and I’m about to apply for an email marketing job, so I want to send my cv through in fancy html to show them I know what I’m talking about.

The thing is, I’ve never actually tried to send out an html email from hotmail, typing or copying and pasting the code from dreamweaver just sends the raw code.

Is it even possible, as I can’t find an option for it.

Is there anything I should know about what works and what doesn’t for your average html email? I hear that in terms of layout it’s better to use tables rather than divs, is this true?

regards
steve

http://www.sitepoint.com/article/code-html-email-newsletters should help you when it comes to coding it. For sending I would use a script and just add your hotmail address as from address. If you have outlook I know you can include .html files in your body text there and send it as a html-mail. Not tried any other mail clients for this but I’m sure there are similar options there as well.

Hope it helps.

it doesn’t sound like you do know what you’re talking about, if you need to ask these sorts of questions :confused:

HTML email is a big field, and writing them can be somewhat of an art form, due to so many e-mail clients treating HTML so very differently. A good read on what you can/can’t do in HTML email can be found here: http://www.email-standards.org/

Hi,
I was talking about sending html emails via HOTMAIL specifically.
I know how to send html emails from something like thunderbird, but I wanted to email them from my personal hotmail account rather than the account of one of my websites.

I’ve only really laid out html emails in table form, I was just asking if it was the right thing to do as apposed to using divs.

So I do know what I’m talking about, but in terms of sending html emails FROM a hotmail account I do not.