How do i approach graphic design

I’m a good web programmer by many ramiification. But the problem I have is the graphics aspect. I can’t create a good graphic design to save my life. It’s ironic, because I know how to use photoshot but my end product is not always as appealing as what I see in other sites. Is there any recommended approach of being good in graphic design?

Study and practice. :wink: Not that I can talk, as I’m no god at it either. But study sites that you like and work out how they did it. Read good books [URL=“http://www.sitepoint.com/books/sexy1/”]on design. Learn more about Photoshop … etc. :slight_smile:

Thanks Ralph,I really appreciate your help.

I suggest that you hire a graphics designer. When I first started I had the same problem. Believe me there is no way that you can design a site with branding and logos like a professional graphics designer that does this every day.

Hope that helps!

You have to sneak up behind it with a bat and hit it right in the head .

On a more serious note , see if it’s work doing this , it takes about 3 years to reach a professional level and even then you can be someone that makes horrid little things . The main problem with web graphic design is the fact that real life (out eternal source of inspiration) is very different then what we need to make .

1st off improve your tools Photoshop , Illustrator and Flash are the tools of the trade and yet they still need help from 3dMax from time to time . Once you have the firepower you need to add the creativity & experience this is the hardest part and one that you can fail time and time again . You simply need to create for the sake of art , not for money , not to improve yourself just for the sake of creation . As you gaze upon your artwork you’ll get more ideas and improve your hand . Once your happy with the quality of the stuff you create then it’s time to move on to workflow and efficiency which ironically is the easiest step and the most profitable .