How do I choose between PHP and ASP.NET?

Hello,

This is my first time I visit Sitepoint. I have heared good things about it and I hope that I can find people who can help me. I’m in the middle between PHP and ASP.NET. I read the first chapters of some books for both languages but I could not reach to the place where I can decide which one to choose. I also read many articles which comapre between the two technologies.

Now, you are the experts in the filed and I need your help. My goal is to build dynamic websites that will be fast and secure. I also may go with freelancing and provide services for customers to build their sites. My targeted audience may be: public persons, schools, clinics, hospitals, shops, hotels,etc.

Do you have something to say?

I let the client decide. I do both, and the client usually either 1) already has an established site that needs updated, 2) has a server that only supports one or the other, or 3) has a direct requirement which language to use.

If you are going to freelance, you will definetley find more PHP jobs, because a lot of comercial CMS and blog platforms are written in PHP. Regarding security, application is as secure as you write it.
Good luck on your quest!

In my experience ASP.net is more suited to a commercial environment than PHP is. Unless the PHP is done right by a team of people who live and breathe Open Source and actually know how to use this tool properly. This opinion does come with a small caveat though, which is, I’ve worked for some very bad companies that didn’t truly understand PHP or could get more ASP.net work and wouldn’t even consider PHP. Or they didn’t want to spend the time scripting with PHP the proper way or focus on security. They wanted it yesterday kind of attitude. So my first sentence could be a slightly warped opinion due to my exposure to both languages thus far.