How do I cut out bits in photoshop?

Easy question for you guys…
I’m very new to using this kind of program.
Using photoshop cs2 , can someone show me how to cut out parts of a picture ?
Supposing I wanted to cut out just the head and shoulders of a portrait photo, how do I automatically find the edges of the head ready to cut out ?
simple question to some…I know…but I gotta start somewhere !
TIA
Tom

it’s not so simple… it all depends on the image. If the face is on a background that contrasts sharply then it’s easy, if not… not difficult, just longer in time.

Since I can’t see your picture (upload if you will) select your “Pen” tool and draw over the outline of the section you want to cut out. Alt+Click on each of the anchor points as you go.

Anoter rouch and quick method is the “Elastic Lasso” or just the lass tool. click and keep drawing the outline…

Upload the image and we can take a look.

atm…I dont have a specific image to play with yet.
I want to use the technique shown in another thread where the image becomes ‘ghostly’. After I’ve finished with the image I’ll need to cut it out and paste onto a different background.
I want to take several pics of my kids to do this project.

If I post up this random pic I found on google, maybe someone could do a small tutorial.
Picture

Thanks !
Tom

There are many different ways you can do this but the easiest way for someone who is just starting out is to use the quick mask select mode.

Whenever you are trying to manipulate any part of an image it is the selection that is key. That is why there are so many tools and ways to select things in photoshop.

1. Open your source image
  2. Duplicate the layer the image is on and hide the duplicate (always good to have a backup in case you need it)

1. Put the image into ‘quick mask mode’. This will allow you to ‘paint’ your selection instead of using the pen tool or tools that are less precise.