How do i execute different query using loop or whatever?

Hi guys,I just started learning PHP. I’m trying to retrieve the number of counts a value have.
Example my I have a field called “find_out_about_us” which stores different value like friends,social_media,search_engine. So lets say i got 5 rows of friends found in that column so my sql query will return me a value of 5.

Now my problem is… i need to count the value for different values. like i got friends,social_media,search_engine and a lot more… How do i automate this process?? Instead of keep manually editing the where clause value?

Here is my query:

$count_query = "SELECT COUNT(`find_out_about_us`) AS counted
                        FROM polls
                       WHERE `find_out_about_us` =  'friends' ";

$result = mysqli_query($link, $count_query) or die(mysqli_error($link));
        $count_result = mysqli_fetch_array($result);
SELECT find_out_about_us
     , COUNT(*) AS counted 
  FROM polls 
GROUP
    BY find_out_about_us

OMG! i all the way think is php problem… why i never thought of that… haiz. A big thanks to you! Life saver! :slight_smile:

erm sorry,i faced problem again…

When using the query you gave, values which never appear in database before will not be counted right… but i need it to be counted also.
For example… i have a value “search engine” in my radio button if no one clicks it, “search engine” wont be appear in the database and wont be grouped.
How do i make it show:
search engine : 0 polls

#1: Welcome to SitePoint Forums. :slight_smile:

#2: There’s a database way to do it, and a PHP way to do it.
The database way involves creating a table of your potential answers and then joining the two tables together.
The PHP way is a little cleaner imo for your situation.

$counts = array('friends' => 0,'social_media' => 0 ,'search_engine' => 0); //add entries as necessary.
$count_query = "SELECT find_out_about_us, COUNT(`find_out_about_us`) AS counted