How do I implement multiple languages for one website?

Hello,

hopefully this post is in the right place, I am a bit new to forums.
I am also new to webdesign so I have a noob question, like the title says.

How do I implement multiple languages for one website?

I would like to have a nice looking menu somewhere on my website where you can choose the language of your preference.
Before posting, I searched for other threads on this but I didn’t find andthing, like this question unfortunately.

Thank you,
Milan :slight_smile:

Make duplicate pages in the other languages, save them in folders with an abbreviated code for the language - eg /en/index.htm for English, /fr/index.htm for French, etc, and link to the alternative language versions at top right or top left of each page. - it seems to be common to have these links as flags or same abbreviation as used for the folders . It’s not exactly a difficult problem to solve, is it?

Off Topic:

These days, using Chrome, if I come across a site that’s not in my native language, I’m asked if I want it translated—meaning I can read it in my own language in an instant. Probably not ideal, but signs of a brave new world, indeed.

Are you currently learning a programming language? If you don’t intend to, then I recommend that you use a CMS that has good multi-lingual support, either directly built-in (can’t think of one) or via an add-on or plugin. Most of the popular CMSes have a few third-party solutions.

All three answers were super helpful. For now I will do more research about the brave future and cms of course. But first attend to more pressing matters with the website like writing more content.

Thank you!