How do I layer my site?

Having never built a dynamic website before, all of the different platforms and languages out there are a bit daunting. I’ve been looking at PHPmyAdmin, Ruby on Rails, XAMPP, AJAX, mySQL, XML vs relational databases, etc.; and I just wanted to know what I need to use to build and manage my database, establish a functional server-side and client-side, query the database, and so on.
Lemme know if I’m leaving stuff out too!

PHPmyAdmin is just the interface used to manage a mysql database.

PHP is the most common language for building dynamic websites, most often used with mysql database. I started learning php from these free tutorial videos. They’re a bit unorthadox, but I found then as entertaining as much as useful and now I’m building websites fully database driven. :slight_smile:
Most of what you list are different languages & applications that have different uses. Just google about them.

Hello there,

Seems you’ve got things covered there but I’ll go through the things you mentioned anyway. I’ll divide the following into a few sections for readability.

Server-side scripting
You can choose between Ruby, PHP, Perl, Python or any other scripting or programming language you may want to use. Some people will tell you to use PHP and others swear by Ruby; others by Python and so on. It all comes down to personal preference, and choosing the right tool for the job.

For your purpose, developing a database-driven website, any of the mentioned languages would be a good choice (more or less). I’ve personally been using PHP for ten years but switched to Ruby earlier this year. PHP was easy for me to learn since I had done C and C++, but I find that Ruby is a much more productive language so that’s what I use most of the time—depending on the requirements.

I really enjoy Ruby but I suggest you take a look at a few languages and see which one you find most interesting.

Server-side framework/platform