How do web designers calculate their quotes?

I’m a college student with several years of experience in HTML/CSS/JS/PHP/MySQL. I’m a few courses away from getting my degree in web design and I plan to continue on after as well.

I’m the kind of person that likes to lead. I thrive for that type of challenge and I believe that running my own company is what will bring the best out of me. With that said, I am doing tons of research on starting up my own business.

My question for anyone that is able to answer is… How do web design companies figure their quotes? I don’t want to end up charging too low, or too high. I’ve googled this question for a while now, but I get answers such as think of how many pages it’ll need, will it need any back end programming, etc… but nothing ever explains how the actual cost comes into play.

Any answers at all about this will be appreciated, preferably from freelance designers or companies. Thanks

A good place to start would be the sticky at the top of this forum. Have a read and fire away with some specific questions that we may be able to help with.

The first thing you need to ask yourself is “What am I selling?” Are you selling HTML/CSS/JS/PHP/MySQL? If so, then figure out how much you want to make per hour and multiply that times the number of hours you estimate the job will take.

On the other hand, if you believe you’re in the business of producing results, then figure out how much it’s worth to your client to produce that result. It’s still only math, but using a different set of figures.

Let me use an actual scenario. I was once approached by someone who made a variety of custom spices and wanted an e-commerce website and SEO. Let’s pretend his average sale is $16, that there are 45,000 searches/month for his keywords, and I quoted him $5,500 (just making up some random figures here). I would present it to him like so: