How "hard" are computer science courses?

Hey,

I left school a few years ago and since then I haven’t done any higher education due to just wanting to take some time out, and while I’ve been out of full time education I have realised that computers is my career, but now I’m wondering, am I up to standard for general computer development courses?

I’ve mainly been doing web development (php), and have got a very good understanding now of it all, and if I need a job doing, I can do it. My general computer skills are also, IMO, way above average, but what is average for computer science students?

Any advice on what I would be letting myself into if I signed up for general computer science courses, and what they usally require so I can develop the skills in that area so not a total newbie if they wish me to use python or something…

Thanks in advance! :wink:

Depends on the course you choose but I would expect you to be looking at the general structure of a computer (architecture, components, etc) for a basic understanding of how they work. You would also do something similar concerning networking, programming. After the first year you would then start to put some of these into practice by getting some small projects to do. These projects would be stuff like design and build a network or implement a program that … Some courses inculde a web development element so it could also be build a site for … Specific languages will vary from course to course but I would bet that you come across either Java or c++ at least.

If you are interested in the subject matter and have the basic computer skills you should do well in such a course. My advice would be to try and keep some web work going if you do this to supplement your income.