How hard is Python?

I have the possibility of getting a job with IBM, during the job they will be training me on Python. Python is something I’ve never used and have only heard of the name. I have very little VB 6 knowledge with a good amount of HTML and XHTML knowledge. IBM also wants someone with a VERY good knowledge of windows and it’s registry, which I have being a lead tech for the past 4 1/2 years. The only down side I see about the job is that it’s a contract for 3months with a chance of being longer.

Anyways before I got to ahead of myself I wanted to see what Python is and how hard it is to learn. Would anyone be so kind to enlighten me?

-Michael

Not too many python programmers here. From my experience, if you don’t have any programming experince python will be somewhat challenging to pick up at first. It’s not as easy to use as PHP. However, it’s not that difficult in general and if you’re geared towards programming, you’ll find it to be very powerful and will become a python zealot like every other python user. :slight_smile:

Python’s not too difficult if you understand OOP and keep in mind that whitespace matters. I’ve only played around with it a few times, but it seemed easy enough to catch on with.

To me Python is a great beginner programmer language. There are a ton of resources for it.

That’s just a few to start you off (should keep you busy for a while).

Python.org is your best friend. There are some great introductory articles and examples there as well as little tutorials that teach how to use some of Python’s more advanced features.

I will have to agree with Hartmann. I think Python is a great beginner language. You will find that I have recommended Python to others on this board that are looking to get started in programming.