How is it determined where you are based for tax?

Hi guys and ladies,

My website is hosted in US. I am a British resident. I hope to sell a web based service to Spanish businesses.

Am Liable for income tax :

A) In the country where the website hosted and the
B) The country where I reside (UK)
c) The country where my clients reside.

Any help very much appreciated.

Where your site is hosted shouldn’t make any difference at all.

Where your client is located may affect whether or not certain taxes apply to the transaction but should not impact on where you pay tax.

How is it determined where you are based for tax?

If you haven’t already done so, my advice would be to get professional and qualified advice for your particular circumstances. Any “advice” you receive in forums like this should be treated as general advice only and might not apply in your circumstances.

If you get dragged to court because you have done something wrong, I doubt a defence of so-and-so on SP, or any other forum, told me it was ok would not be laughed at.

Just some food for thought :slight_smile:

I would say that, in this case, the answer is B. If you are working from the UK, then you are liable to pay income tax in the UK. I’m not a lawyer, but I used to work for HMRC. If you really want expert advice, then why not just ask them? Contrary to popular belief, they like being helpful to the public. :slight_smile: Or you could ask a tax consultant, who’ll probably charge you for the same advice HMRC would give you free of charge.

Hi,

I have no professional background in any tax area, but with more and more transactions moving online and international, it is likely that tax authorities will want to tax it both ways, i.e. where you reside and where you sell to. Incidentally I spoke with someone about VAT in the Eurozone and according to him, this is liable at clients end and needs to be filed by you in the client country.