How long did it take you to learn php?

I’m relatively new to php, and am trying to learn. How long did it take you from the point of 0 php knowledge to a level of competence where you could actually construct your own, functional website?

Peronsally, I dont think it matters how long it takes others.

There are a few other factors involved. How comfortable you are with programming, how much time you dedicate to it every day/week/month, practice, do you have any programming experience? Those normally help.

Furthermore, by “building a funcitonal website”, do you mean database oriented website or a website with a bunch of includes and a contact form?

Learning is an ongoing process, but as far as constructing a functional website on your own is concerned, it goes quite fast with php.

I guess I was referring more to database driven sites.

Hmmm…that’s almost like asking ‘How long is a piece of string?’

The only way to answer that is with an example I guess. I built my first functioning database driven website after about a month of working with PHP, I spent about 2 hours a day on it. Now it was functioning, and live and I must say had a lot of traffic after about a year. Looking back at it however, it wasn’t very secure or efficient and the code was a mess.

Learning enough PHP to build an app can be fairly quick, but like anything it depends on how much time you spend working at it. I’ve been working with PHP for over 5 years now and I’m still learning things all the time.

I’ve been doing it for about 5 years now, and I’m still learning.

Becoming strong in it doesn’t take long at all though. It’s just practice and learning how to write “optimal” code (like functions, classes, etc).

Building a database driven site virtually consists of knowing how to use less than 10 things:

[list]
[][fphp]mysql_query[/fphp] (and [fphp]mysql_connect[/fphp]/[fphp]mysql_select_db[/fphp]).
[
]Basic Syntax
[]Variables
[