How long does it take to learn Ruby on Rails?

I have no prior programming experience. This week I have started to learn Ruby. Right now I am using codecademy, which doesn’t seem like it’s teaching me anything useful so I am hoping this small lines of coding will be important down the line. I will work on this M-F, for about 3-4 hours each morning.

I am curious as to what’s the average amount of time it takes for a individual learn to learn Ruby and is able to build things on their own?

My intention for learning is that I am tired of hiring developers and waiting for them to finish the product. I like to have social networks created, so the essential features of those websites are stuff I am looking to build (profile, inbox, activity feed, photo albums, newsletter, photo rating, etc).

I know I will definitely be posting a lot on Ruby forums seeking for help. Hopefully I can come across a mentor to help speed up the process :slight_smile: So yes, back to the question. What is the avg time it takes a person to learn to code Ruby?

Hi there,

I don’t think there’s any hard or fast rule to this.
I’d been learning ruby for about two years when I got into Rails.
I then read a couple of books, hung out on Rails forums, listened to Ryan Bate’s Railscasts a lot, then got the chance to built my first web app.
It wasn’t very exciting, it consisted of a web form, lots of validation, a bit of JavaScript and the dynamic generation of a PDF for each applicant.
Since then I’ve gone on to write some more complicated apps, but this original app has become a pet project and I rewrite it every year or so.
I am always surprised at how bad my code from twelve months ago actually is.

So,to answer the original question: it depends. Personally I needed about two and a half years experience from the point I first opened a Ruby book until I could produce anything decent in Rails.

What about everyone else?
It would be nice to hear other peoples’ views.