How long does it take you to design a homepage?

Hi to all of my fellow web designers, I’m glad I found a forum for web designers. First of all, I graduated with a degree of Bachelor of Science in Computer Science and don’t have any background regarding with designs at all. It is just that I envy those designers who designs amazing, cool, and jaw-dropping web designs that’s why I decided to become a web designer and been working as a web designer for over 8 months now.

Im just wondering how long does it take you guys to design a homepage? Honestly, it takes me 4 to 6 hours to design one, but still having a hard time to design beautiful web designs and sometimes I feel down when Im just staring in my monitor screen and nothing is coming into my mind:(. I just can’t give up with my career as it really became my passion. And maybe you guys could me some helpful tips? I’d be grateful for your help.

Thanks,
Vhin Manansala

Vhin,

looks like you need to work more on concept building rather than designing. Time depends upon the concept and it may take 3 hours to 2 days to get the final stunning design. More practical, simpler and minimal design you make, more in demand you get. I personally love following Peep Laja at ConversionXL.com blog for his great help. Sixrevisions offer great articles on designs and inspirations too.

Hope this helps you too.

Thanks

Vhin;
Every page is different, and usually the purpose of the page will determine it’s design and overall appearance. This is why website templates have the same cookie-cutter look. Without having a specific client, there is no way to design an individualistic page.
When I build a page for a client, the homepage design takes about 30 minutes. Coding and linking might take another hour or so. All the subpages flow from that design.

Are you asking about a design mock-up (ie, creating it in photoshop), or coding it?