<ul>
<li><a href=“item1.php”>item1</a></li>
<li><a href=“item3.php”>item2</a>
<ul>
<li><a href=“item2-5.php”>item2-5</a></li>
</ul</li>
<li><a href=“item3.php”>item3</a></li>
</li>

• Item 2-5 needs to have a class added either to the a or the li using jquery I’ve tried the following but it isn’t working:

<script>
jQuery(function(){
$(this).parent(‘li’).addClass(‘current’);
});
</script>

I’m new to this jquery malarkey so I’m shooting in the dark somewhat here so if anyone can point me in the right direction is would be most appreciated.
I should mention that there’ll be a few of these nested lists, the parents (li) of which will all need a class added via jquery.

Thanks,
Dan

I know I originally gave incorrect details and I apologise for that. If what I’m trying to achieve really isn’t possible then please tell me so I’m not going on a wild goose chase. Thanks.

Hi There,

Thanks for the suggestion but there’ll be other subcategories created over time by my client and ideally I need a method of adding the class regardless of the link each time a new subcategory is added.

Cheers,
Dan

Good grief yes! Sorry, I’m overworked and underslept…that’s my excuse anyway. Yes that is exactly what I want styled and I’m sorry to send you on a wild goose chase.

$(‘a[href=item2-5.php]’).parent().addClass(‘current’);

How will the current link be determined?

If the page refreshes each time a link is clicked the current class should be applied at the server level not the client level. I don’t really see the advantages of using JavaScript to apply the current link unless the pages isn’t refreshing. In that case you will also need to account for removing the current class from the link that was previous clicked also, not just adding it to the link that was clicked. None the less, the logic that is necessary to differentiate the current vs. not current link is critical to the operation of this feature.

Hello again.