How To: Adding/Removing New Table Row w/ Prototype

I’m a novice JS coder and have never used prototype. I’d like to dynamically add and remove rows (preferably a function I could simply call for each) to a table. Anyone have a code example that works across browsers?

Thanks.

Is it an absolute necessity that the script be in Prototype?

document.observe('dom:loaded', function() {
var table = $$('table');
var rows = table.down('tr');
   rows.each(function(w) {
        w.observe('click', function(e) {
            this.remove();
        }

Not tested…this just looks for click on the tr element…when it receives a click it removes the row…but would definitely work but i can’t remember exactly how down() works so may not have got it 100%…assumes there is only one table on the page.

I know you asked how to add/remove rows but this should get you going…you need to look up the utility operators http://www.prototypejs.org/api/utilityr so you can start controlling things using classes/id’s…so say you had an add row button with a id of
‘add’ you could do :

var addthis = $('add');
 addthis.observe('click', function(e) {
//use new element and appendChild here to add a row
}

By the way…i’d go with jquery…it’s much easier for a newbie javascripter to pick up. Prototype has an OO feel to it whereas jquery is based around css selectors…and it’s much more lightweight!

Ok, I am certainly learning this as I go. I unfortunately haven’t been able to find the best documentation for Prototype, but I’m managing. So this seems to do the trick for inserting a row. That part is working, though I’m sure there is a far better way to do this, as well as some error checking, etc. to put in place (right?).

$('equipment').down('tr').insert(after: 'tr string to insert');