How to check if a form variable has a value?

I’m fairly new to js, having to learn alot while I go so apologies if this is an easy question.

I need to change the code below so that it will check to see if there is a value for the model variable, its a select dropdown in a form.
If there is no value then I don’t want the var model to be included in the url part.

I also need to check to see if the var pics is checked (its a checkbox) if its checked then i want to include it, if its not checked then again I need to miss it our from the url part.

Can anyone help me please? I’ve posted a few help threads on here now with no-one repling, if I’ve not given enough detail with this for anyone to be able to help me please tell me. I really need help with this, I’ve posted the full js function below.

Thanks in advance.

function ajaxFunction(){
var ajaxRequest; // The variable that makes Ajax possible!

try{
	// Opera 8.0+, Firefox, Safari
	ajaxRequest = new XMLHttpRequest();
} catch (e){
	// Internet Explorer Browsers
	try{
		ajaxRequest = new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP");
	} catch (e) {
		try{
			ajaxRequest = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP");
		} catch (e){
			// Something went wrong
			alert("Your browser broke!");
			return false;
		}
	}
}
// Create a function that will receive data sent from the server
ajaxRequest.onreadystatechange = function(){
	if(ajaxRequest.readyState == 4){
		var ajaxDisplay = document.getElementById('ajaxDiv');
		ajaxDisplay.innerHTML = ajaxRequest.responseText;
	}
}
var drop_1 = document.getElementById('drop_1').value;
var model = document.getElementById('model').value;
var mileage = document.getElementById('mileage').value;
var colour = document.getElementById('colour').value;
var min_price = document.getElementById('min_price').value;
var max_price = document.getElementById('max_price').value;
var min_engine_size = document.getElementById('min_engine_size').value;