How to come up with prices for freelance work?

Hi

After being unemployed for some time I might start looking into working freelance until I find a full time job. But I just remembered that I do not have any idea of how much to charge, or how it work, for example:
1 - if a client needs a redesign
2 - fixing bugs
3 - coding their idea
4 - design and coding a site

• as you can see I am just making this up because I have no idea about this

Are there any resources where I can refere to. Or does it all depend on the client budget? Do they just set the price, like “I have £xx.xx take it or leave it”

Also I am a beginner in terms of commercial experience, so does that mean my prices should be lower?

Basically I need to have an idea of how much to charge so that I do not look too cheap or to expensive.

Can you recommend me anything, as you can see I dont know anything about this.

• Thanks

Akurtula

Best place to start:

Identify your annual outgoings and work out what you would be happy to earn per annum after you have removed these costs (remember to factor in tax).

Work out what this equates to per hour, what ever you charge scale it out to a full-time wage (early on you won’t be able to get enough work to do eight hours a day though) and ask yourself are you satisfied with that?

The tough bit is working out what you can charge for your experience, get some quotes from local freelancers and see how you compare. Consider pricing yourself a little higher to give the impression that you are better, you don’t want to compete on just price.

Finally, never accept a job because something is better than nothing. You have to be motivated by the reward and if a company is offering a low reward, work quality will decrease and you’ll find it difficult to increase your rates with that company.

Good luck

Richard

The best way is to compare it what other people are offering.