How to communicate Allowable Form Characters?

What is the best way to communicate to a User which characters are allowable in a Form?

If space wasn’t an issue, then you could write a book to eliminate ambiguity. However that is rarely the case!

Here are some different Error messages all trying to susinctly communicate the same thing…

$errors['username'] = 'Username must be 8-30 characters (A-Z0-9_- )';

$errors['username'] = 'Username can only use Letters, Numbers, Underscore, Hyphen, Period.';

$errors['username'] = 'Username can only use: a-z A-Z 0-9 _ - .';

$errors['username'] = 'Invalid Username.  [COLOR="#0000CD"]([u]see valid characters[/u])[/COLOR]';

The last one could take them to a page with LARGE FONT spelling things out.

As a developer, I think #1 is the best, however it may not be intuitive to your average person.

As Jane User, #2 is the clearest, but it also is really l–o–n–g, and if you had 8-10 special characters you allowed, then you would have wrapping issues!!

Anyways, what do you think?!

Debbie

The messages should be extremely specific to what the problem is instead of being generally instructive. That is, you should first process the input, and then you should respond specifically.

No user wants to read a book just to sign up. Chances are he’d find it so bizarre he’d be spooked off by that. So the best way to do it is to refrain from giving too much (probably unwanted and unnecessary) info until it’s needed, and to keep out any irrelevant info from your error messages when you display them.

If, for example, the username is too short or too long, say that: ‘Username too short, 8 chars minimum’, ‘Username too long, 30 chars maximum’. If it has a character you don’t approve of: ‘The character “x” is not allowed in username’.

<hr>

Messages like ‘must’, ‘can only’, ‘Invalid Username’ should be avoided. Positive attitude helps you more with the user instead of trying to procure him with a coronary event. :slight_smile: