How to create a Simple Website with Wordpress?

Dear Friends

I am new to wordpress. I want to build a simple website with 4 links i.e Home . About . Products . Contact. All I know is that it can be done by adding pages from admin. But I want the website to be more like a normal website than a blog. I dont want the blog link with the website. Trying to build it more like a corporate website than a blog.

Any tutorial from basics…

Kindly help me…

Thanks in Advance.

Use a template(or custom build) that looks like a site. Checkout templatemonster.com etc.

There are lots of sites that are used to create wordpress theme. you can take help from paid sites also. This is the which is used to create the wordpress template according to you choice.
www.yvoschaap.com/wpthemegen/

Wordpress is mainly for blogs. If you are looking for making a regular updating blog, then you should go for wordpress. if you are looking for making a static website then you can choose online available HTML templates and get your site started.

May be you are using WordPress.com, that won’t give you much options to play around. Download the php files from WordPress.org

There are a lot of options here and you really can create very nice websites with Wordpress.
You can use a framework like Genesis or Thesis…for both you need to pay
You can download a theme from http://themeforest.net/ or from http://www.woothemes.com (which also offers some great free themes and also support for them which I really like and you can create wonderful websites).
Beside these options there much more examples of websites offering free themes so you just need to make a search on google.

If you are in the Wordpress admin. Go to Settings>Reading>Front Page>A Static Page. Set this to a page you have created as your home page. This will remove the blog from being the default page and allow you to use pages rather than posts.