How to get a "c.e.o."

Im a developer and i have a web-based business that is starting to gain traction. More and more strategies and marketing stuff need to get done and I’ve decided to just concentrate on development and seek the help of another person who will do the business side of the operation.

What is the best way to get help? should I get a CEO right away? What is the common practice when hiring a CEO in terms of what percentage (company share) to give him/her, or is giving away a percentage ownership of the company always assumed?

It’s not that easy to just ‘get a CEO’, especially with a small company. A CEO doesn’t really handle marketing, they would be more of a leadership and strategy role for a large organization as well as a rainmaker and public face. If you are just ‘starting to get traction’ it may not be worth paying millions of dollars for a hotshot CEO :slight_smile:

What is it, exactly, that you need to be done for the business? If you want marketing, look for a marketing pro. If you want someone to handle the business side of things, look for a lower level person who is familiar with startups and would consider a joint venture.

Whether a % of the company is required depends on how deep your pockets are. I will be your CTO for equity-only for a big percentage of a company that is very promising, and I will be a CTO for cash-only if you write me a big enough check.

One thing is for sure, if you want to attract seasoned business talented you’ll have to offer something substantial.

Thanks Sagewing, very informative! ok, IF i give away a little %, how would i protect the company from this new partner (a CEO or a business expert) should he mess up his role? don’t want him to keep some ownership of the company if he’s not doing his part good enough. I’ve heard a little about vesting, is this where it comes in? Can you anyone provide an example or how-to scenario, thanks much…