How to get a job in web development with no experience

Hi,

I’ve been learning web development and design for about 2 years on my own (self-taught) and I just want to know the steps that I have to take in order to get a job or be a freelancer in the field. I have no experience in this filed I work in sales.

What is the right path to take?

You can start as freelancer and build your portfolio. We seen many freelancers hired full time

Create some websites???

You need examples of what you can do, so make some sites on topics that interest you. Help a local charity for free.

I agree,

Start with making your own website if you don’t have one already.
Ask friends, family, local businesses if they need a website.

Practice making as many sites as you can.

In addition to working on sites, you should also take a look at web development books and languages. This will help you avoid “reinventing the wheel” or getting frustrated by problems by seeing suggestions on generally accepted techniques. Sitepoint actually has a good collection of introductory and intermediate materials on the main site.

Web development isn’t just another day job, but if that’s what you’re looking for, I would suggest looking elsewhere. Web development is a hobby that you really need to have an serious interest in, otherwise you’ll hate it and drive yourself crazy with all the details and problems you will encounter.

Look on local forums or freelance sites and bid on projects to get a portfolio built up. I had to work on the cheap for a couple hundred USD$ for some static sites to get a portfolio built up before I was comfortable enough to apply for some design jobs. I used craigslist and googled “freelance design jobs” to get my experience for my first office job.

First of all create your own website so you can show your clients and maybe find clients online, the next step could be doing 5 reference websites for free or very low price so you will have references :slight_smile: