How to Implement Add Page to Favorites using cookies in Javascript

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie and still learning the language. I need to implement an Add to Favorites feature , so that users are able to add a page to favorites list and can revisit it the next time they visit the website ( the link to the page is stored in a cookie , and is retrieved on their next visit )

I would really appreciate if someone would be so kind as to help me write the script for this feature.

Thanks in Advance ,

T.

Here are the common functions for handling cookies. createCookie, readCookie, and eraseCookie
http://snipplr.com/view/45954/

Thankyou for the snippets…I’ve tried to use these in my scenario but I am still confused…these functions allow us to store name/value pairs as cookies… In my scenario I have to store links to products bookmarked by the user…the link itself will be the value and perhaps the product name , the name? I hope I am right here…
Another question is in my scenario when the user clicks to save products as favorites we will create the cookie by calling the function createcookie on mouse click , but when the user revisits the site , all the cookies saved by the user should be retrieved when the page loads and displayed in the sidebar .The readcookie function apparently only reads cookies with known names , my Question is , Is there a way to read all cookies stored by the user ? If not, How should the names of products be remembered accross different sessions without using a db or file to store them?
Final question, if it cannot be done without a database or file, it would be more sensible to store the entire information the product name and the link to the product in the same database. Why to use different procedures to perform a single task?

Because you are creating the cookies, you know which ones can be used for the reading of them.