HTML and PHP

I have knowledge of HTML but not of PHP. I am trying to edit a site that incorporates both.

For instance, there are files of index.html index.php about.php calendar.php events.php

I only edited the index.html page to reflect the weeks upcoming events column which is on the left side of the page. I can see the current updates when I go to mywebsite dot com/index.html or just mywebsite dot com.

//sorry I had to do that , I’m a noob

But once you select the home, about, calendar, or events buttons and the URL reads:

mywebsite dot com/about.php mywebsite dot com/calendar.php etc, that left hand column goes back to the previous weeks events that was listed on the index.html page before I updated the content.

What am I missing?

The columns in the pages with .php extension are probably being pulled in from an include. What’s your directory structure look like?

I’m surprised there’s an index.html and index.php. The first will overide the other. If you look at the code for one of the other pages, look at what’s in place of the week’s events section. You will probably see something like

<?php include(‘includes/events.php’); ?>

That little url in there (includes/events.php) is the location of the file where the events details are being pulled from. You can open that file and make the changes there, and they will automatically feed into all pages.

It would be better to replace index.html with index.php, though, and add the events code there too, so that you don’t have to update the index page separately.

These codes for the header and footer are in all the .php files.

include (‘./includes/header.inc’);
include (‘./includes/footer.inc’);

ralph.m, you said “I’m surprised there’s an index.html and index.php. The first will overide the other.”

It kind of seems the other way. I can load up the index.html page with the changes I have made, but click on the home button and it goes to index.php and the old information.