I am at a crossroad as to which serve side language to choose?

Hi, I am a newbie at designing webiste. So far I have learned some html, css and

javascript. Now I am ready to study one of the server side languages. But I haven’t the

slightest idea about which to choose. It seems that php is the most commonly used ,but I

have a liking for python. Yesterday, I asked my hosting company whether their server supports python and

got the positive answer. Now I wonder if I choose to learn python, will I be able to do all

the things usually done by php and will there be any limitations or will you be kind enough

to give me some other good suggestions. Thank you very much.

Well, you must have seen something you like about Python, so go ahead and keep it in mind. You can use any of the major back-end languages to do web stuff in, so that’s not an issue.

Esp since your host says they support Python, you know you won’t have to deal with possibly the main reason PHP is most popular even with people who don’t like it: many hosters only offer PHP.

Depending on how much Javascript you really know, you may want to check out the various religions (and it really is a bit like religions) running around each language. Most languages have a community surrounding and supporting it, and they have mottos by which they code. Keep in mind that pretty much every language you’ll consider uses Classical Classes and not JS-style prototypes.

Python’s is pretty much “there should be one, and preferably only ONE, right way to do it”. Coding in the same manner between programmers is more important in the Python community.