I am lost! fixed header and footer with scrolling content in between

I have spent the better part of today running around in circles and I am stumped. I am an amateur so please be patient.

This is what I want to do, (I will try to explain it as clearly as possible).

I have a script that will rotate full screen background images on page refresh. I also have a permanently “fixed” png semi-transparent top banner. The scrolling content will go just below the top banner, and will have a top graphic that will also be using the css “fixed” property in place, while the content scrolls in and fades out of view. There is also a fixed footer where there will be the same fading effect on the scrolling content in a fixed window that will change in size depending on the user’s viewport.

As mentioned, I am stumped, I have tried pure css, a hybid using both table and css, I do not want to use javascript, or any other language, I am pretty sure someone has tried this before, could I be directed to a tutorial or resource that could point the way.

Hi Welcome to Sitepoint :slight_smile:

Do you mean something like this old demo.

The js is just there for IE6 as it was an old demo but I wouldn’t bother these days to go that far for IE6.

Hi Paul, thank you for getting back to me and excuse my noobness, the obstacle I cannot get around, and I feel I will not be getting around, is the desire to use a top banner png with transparent areas. The problem arises when the content div, that is situated below the top, semi-transparent banner scrolls, the text container moves vertically to the top of the page and the text bleeds through the transparent areas of the banner, and so ruins the effect I was after. If there is a way to solve that problem I would be interested, but it would appear I will have to go with a boxy top header.

Hi,

Do you mean something more like this?

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html>
<head>