I can't tell if I'm being bamboozled by a developer

I’m a novice grade developer of some kind. I’m generally an all-in-one package: graphic designer, UI designer, front-end developer and Wordpress developer. I work at a company where we’re currently working on several websites and so we needed to hire an outside developer to assist us. My supervisor very impulsively hired our first interview and so now I’m getting to know them.

I can’t tell if this person is trying to bamboozle us.

Before I had the opportunity to communicate our needs and projects the developer proposed we use her “custom” made theme with a set of functions we don’t necessarily need. Despite my instruction that I don’t want unnecessary functionality in some projects, this developer refused to follow my instruction. I asked for documentation on how their theme is set up (for my needs and others in the office). The developer said, “What’s that?”.

I then asked the developer to send me the theme so that I can go through the code and understand how it’s structured. I’m not the best at these things but since I’m in-house I need to know the ins and outs of this project because I will likely always be in charge of customizations, fixing things, adding features. She decided not to send anything to me and instead decided that she’ll use an “easier” theme asked me to send her a PSD so that she can create the theme. Mind you, all this happened within two days of working with her.

My question is: is this normal? Am I doing something wrong? Should I not demand the code or documentation of the code from my developer? Or is this person acting fishy?

I should add: During one meeting with this person, she continuously promoted the fact that her “custom” theme contained a pop-up iframe as though I should be impressed? She showed it several times.