I need to know how to make a website editing tool

Does anyone know how to make a website editing tool? I am new to this, but I am certified by Train Simple’s web technologies online training school, so I understand html, css, and I took their fundamental courses on javascript, but I am very weak in this area. I don’t know any php. I want to start making websites for people, but my first client wants to be able to edit his own site. Do professional web developer companies generally have this service? Do they typically discourage clients from editing their own site because of the potential to hurt the optimization of the site?

Any help with a link to an article on how to develop such a site would be very appreciated.

Sounds like you need to encourage your client to use a CMS. This allows the client control over the content, but you can set up the site appropriately.

Okay, I appreciate your help. I am only familiar with WordPress. Do you recommend any particular cms?

Also, I am currently looking at ck editor. I am not sure how this works. Are you? Is this a viable solution? I don’t understand how it works. Am I supposed to add the files into my own html page and create a new document which will be an html editor [I]website[I]? or am I supposed to add the links to each website that I want to edit?

There’s a list of CMS packages here. It’s a bit dated, but there are a number of choices there which are still viable and active.

As for CK Editor, it is usually used in a CMS type of package. It can be used for base HTML editing, but I wouldn’t recommend it, because unless you know what you’re doing, you can be causing yourself more harm than good…

Can you or someone point me in the right direction if I just want to make a website editor that my clients can add content to? One that is similar to web.com’s Matrix Online Builder? This is similar to Wix. Web.com makes you a site, but you can log in to their online builder and edit it yourself.