I onlyCSS hack for IE7

Hi guys,

I was wondering if I could have someone Else’s input on dreaded CSS hacks.

Basically I have been a developer for two going on three years now and although I wouldn’t call myself advanced yet, I am no beginner and my mark-up is clean and usually validates with hardly any errors. Because I learned the web languages a bit later, I was never involved in the old-skool table design methodology, I learned mainly from Sitepoint books, forums and online tutorials to do everything with pure CSS. I only really use tables for forms.

I find that I rarely need tp use CSS hacks but that I do regularly use HTML * to compensate for differing margins, font-sizes and padding on older versions of IE. I must also state that I don’t bother designing for IE6 anymore so I am referring to IE7 onwards.

So my question is if I’m not using any hacks but html* should I be worried? Is there anything that you think I could be missing or is it pretty much the same for the rest of you?

If there is potential need for hacks for Safari, Chrome, Opera etc, I would love to know what sort of things to look out for.
I appreciate your advice.

kind regards

Silversurfer

I6-8 are the only browsers I have needed hacks for css. I’ve been using this which may look a little ugly but works perfectly.

<!--[if lt IE 7 ]> <html class="ie6"> <![endif]-->
<!--[if IE 7 ]>    <html class="ie7"> <![endif]-->
<!--[if IE 8 ]>    <html class="ie8"> <![endif]-->
<!--[if (gte IE 9)|!(IE)]><!--> <html> <!--<![endif]-->

It adds ie6, ie7, ie8 classes so that you can use rather than hacks.

Cool thanks for your input Mark.

Never seen that before, is that to go in the css or the html??

I use conditional comments sometimes but so far I’m not having too many problems with IE8. What sort of IE8 bugs do you find you run into? I’m just interested to know. Maybe I will run into them in the future.