I suspect there are *MUCH* better ways of doing this

I am no MySQL expert … as I’m about to demonstrate :wink:

I have a DB with multiple tables. In one table, I have:

id (primary key) tag
1 monkey
2 cat
3 dog
etc

In another table I have a field ‘tags_used’ which contains any ids of tags used for a given person. I’m storing it as a string with underscore separators, e.g “1_3” and then breaking it apart in PHP and doing nested lookups for each id found.

This seems really inefficient. There must, surely, be a better way of storing the data and retrieving it again in PHP. I’ve got it working, sure, but it’s cumbersome.

How would you approach something like this?

1. what is the structure of the second table?

2. it’s not clear to me what exactly you are trying to do. Are you trying to make sure a user doesn’t use a tag more than once?

I want people to enter a tag for an event. If that tag has not been used, it gets added to the first table tblEventTags with an associated id. At the same time, the id for that newly created tag in the tblEventTags table gets added to the tblEvents table which has a field called event_tags.

Rather than store all the event tags as comma separated values in a string in the event_tags field, I’m saving the id related to it, hence, the event_tags field may have 1_3_5_7. I explode that string, then loop through each item in the array to find the tag name in the tblEventTags table.

So, the question is really about whether this is the best way to store data like this in the tblEvents table > event_tags field.

Hope this helps explain a bit more

Sounds like a problem asking for a many-to-many table.

As an example:

tblEvents

id | name
------------------------
 1 | Pizza Night
 2 | Dance Night
 3 | Italian Dinner Gala

tblTags

id | name
----------------
 1 | dance
 2 | food

tblEventTags (<– The many-to-many table)

event_id | tag_id
-----------------
       1 | 2
       2 | 1
       3 | 1
       3 | 2