IE 9 ignores padding. Help

Hi All,

I have a newbie question that I hope you can help out with.
I am pretty new to website design and sometimes get lost with browser compatibility and lose a lot of sleep because of IE.

My issue is that IE is ignoring my padding, particularly the left specified padding.

Thanks.

#navigation {
	float: left;
	width: 885px;
	background-color: #FFF;
	margin-top: 15px;
	padding-bottom: 5px;
	padding-left: 10px;
	height: auto;
	padding-top: 5px;
	padding-right: 5px;
}

I should probably add the code for the ul li that lies within that div

#navigation ul {
	list-style-type: none;
	margin-left: -40px;

}#navigation ul li  {
	display: block;
	float: left;
	height: 15px;
	width: auto;
	margin-right: 20px;
	list-style-type: none;
	font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
	font-size: 12px;
	padding: 2px;
	border-bottom-style: none;
	border-top-style: none;
	border-right-style: none;
	border-left-style: none;
}
#navigation ul li a {
	font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
	font-size: 12px;
	font-style: normal;
	line-height: normal;
	text-decoration: none;
	font-weight: normal;
	font-variant: normal;
	text-transform: capitalize;
	color: #000;
	height: 15px;
	display: block;

I had removed the margin-left: -40px on the #navigation ul and both Chrome and Firefox had shifted the list to the right, IE9 however, was left aligned with elements below that have the same padding…which is what needs to happen.
I have just realised that all other divs with the left padding render OK in IE, so it must be the ul li that is causing this issue…?

Hi milkandhoney. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

It’s easier to help with a live link, but I suspect your main problem here might be with browser defaults. Each browser puts its own margin and padding on lists, so many people start their style sheet by getting rid of browser defaults. In this instance, you’d do that with

ul {margin: 0; padding: 0}