IE displays input field with extra padding?

Hi guys and gals,

i am having a problem with a very simple login field. In FF the login field appears “normal” but in IE it appears to have a larger padding underneath. Would anyone be able to explain why this is?

<td style="background-image:url(../images/index/image4.gif)" width="980px" height="40px" align="right">
<form id="login" action="login.php" method="post">
<input name="username">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
<input name="password" type="password" />&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="&nbsp;Login&nbsp;" />&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
</form>
</td>

Thanks everyone.

Robert

Just different preset values. You can always specify the padding you’d like for the element and it’d then be reflected the same in all browsers. As of right now, you are just leaving it to the default that the browser specifies, which varies slightly browser to browser.

thanks, but i’m new to all this and i’m a little lost. I thought it wouldnt matter as i set the height of the td to be 40px?

It depends.

Setting a height to a parent element can’t squish down it’s children (parent would be td and the child would be the input in this case). So, what it does is depends on what the overflow property is set to.

If the overflow property is set to hidden, then it will chop off the extra that goes beyond the space td gives. If overflow is set to visible (which it is by default), then the parent will grow to fit all of it’s children inside of it.

So, what is likely happening is that the td is actually growing beyond 40px, even though you explicitly set it to that.

If I understand what you mean by “large padding underneath”, do you mean that under the input there is a big white space between it and the edge of the td. If that’s the case, you could set the padding on the td to 0 (or 5px, or whatever you want it to be). If you explicitly state it, it will be exactly the same in all browsers.